February 2, 2013

  • Comfort

    I forgot what it’s like to seek comfort in people.  I had an awful day yesterday and kept composure all day.  After work, I went straight to my boyfriend’s place.  When I got there he was laying on the couch watching TV, so I laid down next to him and rested my head on his shoulder.  He asked me about what had happened, and I started getting choked up to the point I couldn’t respond without my voice cracking.  I tried to hide my tears, but since I wasn’t responding, my boyfriend looked down at me and saw I was crying.  He turned off the TV and held me closer.  Just that sense that someone honestly cares about how you’re feeling with that physical comfort made me feel that much better.  

    I honestly can’t remember the last time I had someone like that.  I’ve always had friends I could bitch and rant to, who will offer me perspective, but not friends who will make me feel like things will be okay.  None of my past boyfriends ever offered me that either.  While I dated my first two boyfriends, I was fixated on the notion that my emotions would be nothing but a burden (still true) that I never once sought them for comfort.  My last boyfriend didn’t do shit for me emotionally.  I would straight up tell him I needed someone to talk to, and he would tell me he was shopping and didn’t even think to dial my number.  This one, this one I find so much comfort in.  I promise I won’t take advantage of it.

Comments (11)

  • I certainly wish I will find someone like that soon, and that I can do that same for her (whoever she may be). We’re all human, and for someone to not accept your emotions is simply not a human at all.

  • @laytexduckie - On the contrary, it’s that very fault (and just one of many) that MAKES us human. If someone you’re with doesn’t cater to your emotions, dump their ass and find someone who does. I’m glad you’ve found that quality in someone, Mary :)

  • @Dustin_wind - On the contrary to that contrary,…. um….. er…….I forgot where I was going with that…

  • Glad this boy is treating you right.

  • Awww that’s amazing. With my guy, I know he is the ONE person I can come crying to no matter what. That’s how it should be! Also, touch is so important. Like if you guys are fighting, let it cool and just touch them casually by sitting next to them so your arms are touching, it does wonders! 

  • He sounds like a winner.Hope your next work day will be better.Enjoy the weekend.

  • Now that’s bf material! (smiles)

  • let him know that you are there for him as much as he is for you.  after all a good relationship is about give and take and good communication.

  • Glad to hear that you have that. Good men are hard to find! :)

  • I miss that comfort in a significant other.  My recent ex was the only ex who never had that emotional comfort in our relationship.  When I tell him I’m sad or need to talk he will simply tell me to call one of my gf up because he does not want to deal with it.  To me I felt like he didn’t care.  I’m glad you have someone who cares, sounds like he’s a keeper =).

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *