Month: August 2012

  • A Letter to My Sister

    My sister just started college at Notre Dame last week.  I basically raised my two sisters, so naturally I’m a bit overprotective.  Along with alcohol education, rape prevention, and school advice, looks like she’ll be needing some boy guidance as well.  She’s inexperienced in that department, but being the adorable girl she is, she has a lot of guys chasing after her already.  I mean, college is one of those places that make it so easy to meet people, and many guys don’t have the best intentions.  I’ve been through all that.  So here is my advice to her. 

    I know my sister reads my Xanga, so she’ll definitely read this.  SO READ IT ALL, MICHELLE.
    1. Don’t date a guy who doesn’t have similar interests with you.  You’ll end up taking up all his interests trying to impress him.  The thing about good relationships is that it should be effortless.  Trying to impress your boyfriend or girlfriend means there’s something wrong there. 
    2. Don’t date anyone who you’re not absolutely comfortable with.  No, I’m not talking about being so comfortable that you guys fart in front of each other (but I mean, if that’s cool with you, then sure).  I mean the type of comfortable that you can talk to him about whatever comes to mind.  You should never be afraid that what you’re about to say might push him away or that you’re always walking on eggshells when you’re talking to him.  Communication should be open and free, otherwise, you’ll be too afraid to bring up problems in the relationship, and he’ll get away with treating you like shit. 
    3. Don’t date anyone who doesn’t have Facebook.  I understand some people deactivate their Facebook in times of need or fasts or to see if they can do without it, but from my experience, people who don’t have Facebook always have something to hide.  On top of that, if the guy doesn’t add you, but shows his interest in you, that definitely means he’s hiding something.  

    With all seriousness aside, when you have a bunch of guys chasing you, make them fight to the death Hunger Games style.  Or just follow my motto:

  • Enjoy

    this picture of me.  :D

     

    Those are all old shopping bags plus one for school supply shopping.
    Also, in tribute to @coolmonkey‘s Boner Wars of 2012.  
  • @Cakalusa’s Debonerfest 2012

    #debonerfest2012 

    Because I have nothing to write about.  
    With makeup:

    Without:
    ^___^
  • Overdone

    You know when you order a steak medium, and it comes out well done?  You try to appreciate it because you know, it’s still steak after all.  You find parts of it  juicy and delicious, but for the most part it’s tough to chew. 

    That’s the perfect analogy for my story.  
    In my previous post, I mentioned I went on a date.  I met this guy about two and a half weeks ago while out with friends.  He was a friend’s friend, so when he asked for my number, I wasn’t extremely reluctant.  (On top of that I was trying to get another guy jealous/pissed off, but that’s a whole different story.)  He called me to go out the next weekend and he was so gentlemanly.  We went out clubbing, he paid for absolutely everything (which included four $8 water bottles), and when I was throwing up in KTown, he held my hair and got in a cab with me.  He let me sleep on his lap in the cab, and he carried me from the cab to my apartment, gave me a hug, and headed back to KTown.  Being as nice as he was, I readily accepted when he asked me to dinner.
    The date was the most perfectly planned date I’ve ever been on.  We go to One if by Land, Two if be Sea, which is one of the most romantic restaurants in the city.  I already figured it was too much, but he insisted.  He picked me up with a beautiful bouquet of white roses, and we ordered from the regular menu, not the less tasty Restaurant Week menu.  Prior to picking me up, he got me a red velvet cake, dropped it off at the restaurant, and surprised me by having the waitress bring it out at midnight, exactly my birthday.  He dropped me off, asked me for a second date, which I said yes to, and kissed me on the forehead and left.
    But this is where things go wrong.  
    The next day, he leaves an extremely cheesy video on my wall wishing me happy birthday.  Sort of marking his territory, like he was a dog pissing all over my Facebook.  I had gone on one date with this guy and had known him for only about a week and a half, so understandably, I was extremely embarrassed.  I couldn’t even bring myself to watch the video.  I eventually took it down because I was so embarrassed over it.  
    The day after that, he sends flowers to my office.  I barely know this guy.  I had to pick them up at the front desk and carry them through the office to my desk.  Everyone was asking me who sent me flowers, is he my boyfriend, and honestly, he was nothing to me, so it was just all too embarrassing saying it was a guy I’ve been on one date with.  And furthermore, he expected me to carry that on the subway during rush hour home. 
    I’m not really one for cheese.  I love sweet gestures, but cheesy stuff makes me feel very uncomfortable.  I’ve even told him that, and he continued to do those things.  He bought flowers on top of flowers for me to the point where I have nowhere to keep them.  He’s trying to shortcut his way to being my boyfriend by forcing all this stuff on me.  On top of that, I’ve learned from friends that this guy has a bad reputation.  I’m not entirely sure what it entails, but it’s either he’s a player or he’s just creepy.  Either way, it makes me very reluctant to open up to him.  He knows my reservations, and he retorts with, “Any other girl would be in love with me by now.”  The thing is, so what?  You don’t continue doing something I’ve openly expressed I don’t like figuring I’ll like it eventually.  
    We have a date planned for this Sunday.  He’s already planned it out.  Unsure of how all this will pan out, but we’ll see.