May 11, 2013

  • What would you do if you weren’t afraid?

    In light of my graduation ceremony coming up and me starting full-time work next month, my friend posed the question, “What would you do if you weren’t afraid?”  I’ve heard the question many times before, but to be honest, I’ve never had a drive or passion that I’ve suppressed to chase money and materialism.  Although I am a money-centered, that’s not the point here.  I’ve always been driven by the notion of making my parents proud.  I’m sure most first generation Asian-Americans can agree that that’s what drives most of us to become successful in money-mongering fields.  

    I guess I can say that I’m afraid of my parents.  I’ve never really let my creativity flourish and wasn’t able to develop many passions.  My parents think that they raised me to be devout Catholic, republican, and completely dry and sober.  I’ve never mustered up the courage to let my parents know that I’m none of those anymore.  I don’t believe in God, I think gays should get married, and I used to drink so much I think I almost developed fatty liver.  
    I think if I was able to throw away that fear of my parents, I would be able to find a passion.  It’s just that they’ve supported me all my life.  It’s too hard to shrug off all their wishes.

Comments (8)

  • I would enslave all of mankind.

  • I kinda threw away the fear of my parents a long time ago. They know how outspoken I am in terms of debates (because they watch me debate my cousin sometimes at dinner) and also from what I post on my Facebook. However, the one fear I still hold with them in mind is failing. Not because I think it would disappoint them, but because I know it would put them in a difficult spot. We’re not really the richest family or even to the point of being called wealthy in monetary sense, so I feel like they already had enough on their financial plate and for me to lose my job or anything like that would only strike the most fear into me.

  • Drink all day evry day?

  • My trick was to buy beer right in front of my parents. After that, they didn’t care as much. 

  • This is just so true! Can’t agree more, especially with me being an Asian living in Asia o_o

  • this reminds me of a friend of mine, he’s a hardcore banker but his passion is in painting.  He set up a studio in his place to paint everyday after work.

  • @coolmonkey - = =’ the topic is what would you do if you weren’t afraid, not what would you do if you were capable…

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *