Month: May 2011

  • Accents or Lack Thereof

    I decided to do Cakalusa’s Accent Challenge.  Check there for the list of words.  I’m not wearing makeup, and I sound kind of stupid.  Whatevs.

  • Food

    I’m going to pull a Cakalusa and post a reel of food.  But mostly to document the difference in prices compared to America and China.  You know, an “decent” dinner is the equivalent of 10 dollars here in China.  In America, that’s a steal.  My good friend took me to eat at this upscale, four-course plus appetizer wine, mid-dinner cocktail, and post-dinner beverage.  It was absolutely delicious, and the ambiance was so fancy.  But, I was thinking about how much this would cost in America, and I figure it would run a couple hundred dollars.  But in China, a person is the equivalent of 50 USD.  It’s amazing.  My friend who took me out told me that even though it’s upscale, many middle class people can afford it.  You don’t need to be absolutely rich to afford something like this.  No wonder Chinese people think Americans are Gods.  They have so much spending power here.  Expats are so damn spoiled.  I hate them so much, but I’ll write something about that later.  In the meantime, please enjoy the following food pictures. 




  • Look at How Pretty I Am!

    So, I became a bit nostalgic of my prom, and I decided to post a photo reel of sorts.  Scroll for beautiful pictures of me.  Hahaha.




    Hair and makeup done by me.  If anyone cares.

  • Authenticity

    When I was at orientation for my study abroad program, my program director emphasized that “Chinese food in China is SOOO much better than Chinese food in America.”  But you know what?  It’s not.  Chinese food in China is 10x cheaper than Chinese food in America, so let’s just think about even how much worse the quality is and how much more MSG is in it.  It seriously isn’t that much better at all.  To get delicious Chinese food, you have to go to a higher scale restaurant, which will end up being a fusion restaurant, which kills the authenticity anyway. 

    I don’t know how many times I’ve heard, “But it’s not real _______ food!  Real ______ food is so much better!”  But I don’t understand how authenticity makes anything taste better.  It’s really annoying when I’m trying to enjoy my pseudo-authentic food, and someone tries to ruin my meal.  But you know what?  Fuck you.  I like my fake food.  It’s still delicious no matter what you say.  I still love Taco Bell and Chipotle, even though it’s nowhere near real Mexican food, and to be honest, I don’t like real Mexican food.  I still like Olive Garden, which is probably the fakest Italian food on the planet, although I do enjoy me some authentic Italian delicacy.  I know a few people who go to authentic Italian food places and bag on the pizza, because it simply does not taste as good as “fake” pizza.  Even with my own culture, I have to realize that they’re are some pretty tasty knockoffs.  Baoguette in NYC offers these super tasty banh mi, (Viet sandwiches) but they’re nothing like the real ones.  But I still recognize that they are pleasing to the mouth.  However, I’m digressing here, fake pho is disgusting.  Absolutely disgusting.

    So seriously GTFO with your arrogant “authentic food” bullshit.  Food is food.  Authenticity doesn’t make it tasty.  I think it’s called ingredients.

  • In Light of the Recent News About the Terminator

    There is something absolutely disgusting about an unfaithful person.  Someone who cannot love only their wife, husband, boyfriend, girlfriend.  It’s appalling that they can partake in disgusting lewd acts behind their partner’s back, yet go back to them without a guilty conscience, and continue as if nothing is going on.  Trust is forever broken, the image is forever marred.  For someone to take another for granted in that aspect is entirely selfish, greedy, and gluttonous.  Someone who gives their whole being up to another deserves the utmost amount of respect.  On top of it, it’s physically disgusting, physically disgusting to know that they can so easily sleep with someone other than their own partner.  Absolutely disgusting.  To have the image in their mind, that their significant other has shared the intimate moments they have together, with another.  I can’t even imagine it.

  • Epicness

    There’s something about Chinese culture that is about being the best and greatest in everything.  We all saw it during the open ceremony and the awards ceremonies for the Beijing Olympics.  There’s traces of it in the Shanghai Expo, and most importantly, the way the Chinese are developing their economy.  They’re all full force and pollute the environment until it’s done right.

    Just think about it.  When have the Chinese done something mild?  It’s either outstanding or appalling.  It’s an entirely Machiavellian society.  But this push for the absolute best mentality, is it good or detrimental?  It’s apparent in all aspects of society, as Amy Chua duly noted. 

    It’s much different than the utilitarian view of America, where mediocre is okay.  America is about “be happy with what you have,” whereas China is “you can do better.”  I mean, this is a legitimate statistic, but I read somewhere that 90% of Chinese women feel they need to lose weight, but 90% of American women feel that they are healthy. 

    Just something to ponder.

    But one question still remains, why doesn’t China have the biggest, best burrito?  Chipotleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee.