Month: April 2011

  • Information Bubble

    Sometimes I think Chinese citizens are absolutely oblivious to the world.  I mean, media and speech are so tightly controlled, what else can you expect?  I was hearing stories about how Chinese people actually think some fast food chains McDonald’s and KFC are native to China.  My friends have been asked if we have them in America.  I met some students from Hanhzhou in the Zhejiang province, and we had lunch.  It was family style, so there’s always tea, coke, and sprite sitting on the table.  One of the Chinese students was being a good host and was pouring drinks.  I was the only non-Chinese there, so when she picked up the Sprite, she looked at me and asked, “Do you know what this is?”  I was like o___O.  Sprite…  It’s made by Americans… 

    It’s just mind-boggling how ignorant they are really.  (Ignorant not meant to be harsh by any means.)  The Great Leap Forward killed hundreds of thousands of people.  Chinese students are taught (and believe) that these deaths were caused by a natural disaster.  I have a couple local Chinese students in my program, and when they learned of this, they were so amazed. 

    The Chinese government even told its citizens that the war in Libya was over Stargate for godssake…

  • Facebook Etiquette

    When I first embarked to college, I questioned myself on Facebook etiquette.  Basically what this phrase entails is when it is appropriate to add someone on Facebook.  See in high school, everyone basically knew each other and interacted on a daily basis, so that question never really came to mind.  But I came to college and met quite a few individuals, who I wasn’t sure if I’d see again, or if they’d even remember my name (not like that).  So, that left me wondering, when should I add them?  How many times should I have associated with them?  How close should we have gotten?  Should I have their number?  When is it not creepy?  And when is it alright to ask for their last name?

    Then I decided, fuck it.  I’ll let them add me.  I’ll just add the cute ones.

    Maybe that’s why I didn’t make friends so easily.

  • How to Scare Off People You Don’t Want to Talk To

    There is a special way to successfully accomplish that.  The ignoring approach just has been tried and quite frankly proven tired, so there must be some other tactic to defend ourselves from annoyances.  And simply, it is to the same to the other person. 

    Make said person feel as awkward as possible.  Think about it.  In awkward situations, have you EVER wanted to talk?  You just wanted to somehow slip out of the situation unnoticed and never look back.  But when you do, you think, “Oh man that was awkward.”  You then associate the situation with the people who made it awkward and avoid them for dear life, because everyone knows how godawful awkward moments are.  If you read my blog, then you know my ex has tried to pry himself into my life.  I have made it my mission to make him feel awkward anytime he tries to talk to me.  The easy, but sellout option is to mention how in love with my boyfriend I am.  I mean, if your ex brought that up with you, what can you really say to that?  The situation just becomes extremely awkward.  But I’ve been trying to venture into better territories.  He was trying to tell me a joke, and simply I thought it wasn’t funny, and I told him, “You know, I never understood your humor.”  That made him feel so embarrassed that all he could say was “lol.” with the period and all.  Everyone knows what the period means.  I mean, I pretty much told him I faked it every time.  I mean that both contextually speaking and symbolically speaking.  If you don’t understand what I meant by that, I meant that I faked every orgasm. 

    Trust me.  It works.  Have a nice day!  :]

  • Meh

    You know I was going to do this cute this is what I learned in Chinese class lately, but I’ve been in a pretty terrible mood this week.  I had a midterm in my Infotech class, and I absolutely HATE this class.  The professor is absolutely retarded.  (see previous post)  This weekend was super fail in going out, and early this week, I got pickpocketed.  Worst experience of my life.  Honestly, canceling credit cards is just a hassle, I had minimal money in that wallet, but that wallet was such a treasure to me.  I’ve never had such a useful and convenient wallet that was so beautiful.  It had a change purse, three bill pockets, and plenty of card holders.  It was all italian leather, on the outside a glossy black and on the inside pink.  My mom got it for me as a gift for my birthday, and it had a lot of meaning for me.  I’m so depressed about it.  T___T

    But I guess here’s my cute here’s what I learned in Chinese class.

    Wo bu xiang chi zhong guo cai.  Wo xiang mei guo cai.  Wo xiang Chipotle.  Wo zhou mo xi huan qu tiao wu.   Tiao wu hen hao!  Wo you fake LV bag.  Wo have to bie fake Prada wallet now.  You zhe ge gougou.  Zhe ge gougou ke ai!  Wo zhao gou gou tian tian. 

    Kekeke.  Wo de zhong wen bu cuo! 

  • Teachers and Teaching

    When I was younger, I used to look up to teachers as all-knowing and perfectly just.  I mean, that’s what we were conditioned to learn.  They were the arbitrary force that taught us the wonders of the world and was always right in everything they did, be it teaching or mediating or punishing.  But as I grew out of that disillusionment, I realized that teachers are actually really fucking dumb and biased as hell.  They have their mood swings, blow up at students for no reason, and for a large majority of the time are wrong.  They really don’t know much more about life than we do.  They spread a lot misconceptions that they’ve learned through television just as we did.  And for us to look up to them is bullshit, because they’re idiots just like us. 

    Professors though, I have entirely a different amount of respect for them.  Other than my dumbass Infotech professor.  Stupidest motherfucker of all time.  I have a problem with believing people who buy into conspiracy theories, don’t use proper grammar when sending out important emails, aren’t clear in what they expect, and all-in-all just dumb as a motherfucker.