Month: September 2010

  • Advice and Actions

    People naturally give out the most logical advice.  It just happens.  People most likely see situations in an arbitrary perspective and are able to give detached and succinct advice.

    But strangely, no one can TAKE advice.  Even if it’s the same advice doled out, no one can seem to take their own advice.  They feel that their situations are special, that advisers don’t understand the entire situation, etc.  But what they fail to realize is that they’re just afraid of upsetting their status quo.  That’s why they refuse to take advice.  When people give advice, it’s not their own status quo that’s being upset, so there’s nothing to lose.  But when it’s your own, you become overprotective of the situation and afraid of change.  As humans, we are afraid of change, because what it may bring is uncertainty, and uncertainty is unsettling. 

  • On Security

    I think it’s difficult to find an attractive girl who’s secure.  Most people find this confusing and strange, but it all makes sense to me.  Looks are the basis of most judgments, so looks must be maintained.  However, looks come and go.  They’re so volatile.  Pretty girls will usually depend on their looks for assurance and acceptance (note, I did not say they manipulate people with their looks), because that’s what people will initially notice about them.  So it’s natural for them to feel insecure.  Looks have no secure foundation.

    For those that aren’t so fortunate to have good looks, they are much more fortunate with their self-esteem.  They’ve learned to build a foundation from their personality and wit, rather than relying on looks to build their self-esteem.  Personality is much more stable.  They have no need to worry about their personality suddenly going bad. 

    Security truly stems from the feeling of being accepted by most.  When you’re accepted by something like looks that’s so unstable, it’s hard to be secure.

  • Confused

    After tonight, I’ve been reflecting on the choice of guys I’ve decided that I liked.  Most of them are attractive.  The only ones that weren’t were just around long enough to grow on me, and I just get used to them.  I push away any guy that I’m not immediately physically attracted to.  I find it difficult to become attracted to just purely personality traits.  I can be friends with most guys.  I relate to guys well, converse with guys well, befriend guys well.   I guess the personalities of guys just become less and less significant, and I then tend to place more weight on looks. 

    And for guys to grow on me is for a guy to give me constant romantic attention, because I feen for it.  I become completely attracted to the attention and not necessarily the guy. 

    I become attracted to new guys quickly, not ones that have already been in my life.  That’s why it’s so difficult to move out of the friendzone.  I like the excitement of meeting someone new and getting to know them. 

    I’m confused with the guys I reject.  I just rejected a really nice guy today.  He does almost anything for me, spoils me to the core, but for some reason, I don’t want him.  He’s been a friend too long, and I’ve gotten to know him too well.  There’s no excitement.  And I know all his flaws.  And I feel we wouldn’t be compatible. 

    But why do I feel like I made the wrong decision?